ATDS Awards 2014

The American Theatre and Drama Society’s 2013/2014 Award Winners

Betty Jean Jones Award

Robert A. Schanke, Professor Emeritus of Central College.

To honor and remember Betty Jean Jones who was a highly respected and admired American Theatre and Drama teacher, the American Theatre and Drama Society accepts nominations each year for the Betty Jean Jones Award.  Betty Jean received her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and, until her untimely death, was a professor at the University of Michigan. The award that bears her name honors individuals who have achieved excellence as college/university teachers and/or scholars, and have served as mentors in the profession.

Past honorees include:

Dorothy Chansky, 2013
Laurence Senelick, 2012
Felicia Londré, 2011
John Frick, 2010
Elinor Fuchs, 2009
David Krasner, 2008
Jim Fisher, 2007
Christopher Bigsby, 2006
Harry Elam, 2006
Brooks McNamara, 2005
Marc Robinson, 2004
Barry Witham, 2003
Patti Gillespie, 2002
Linda Dorff, 2001
Esther Jackson, 2000
Don Wilmeth, 1999
Rosemarie Bank, 1998
Geri Maschio, 1997

ATDS’s Annual Book Award

Barry Witham, University of Washington

A Sustainable Theatre: Jasper Deeter at Hedgerow (Palgrave Studies in Theatre and Performance History).

Honorable Mention to Helen Krich Chinoy and editors Don B. Wilmeth and Milly S. Barranger for The Group Theatre: Passion, Politics, and Performance in the Depression Era (Palgrave Studies in Theatre and Performance History).

Vera Mowry Roberts Award for Research and Publication

Michelle Granshaw (University of Pittsburgh)

“The Mysterious Victory of the Newsboys: The Grand Duke Theatre’s 1874 Challenge to the Theatre Licensing Law,” published in Theatre Survey (January 2014).

ATDS Faculty Travel Award

Michelle Granshaw, University of Pittsburgh

Michelle Granshaw will conduct research on hibernicons, variety shows of the Irish diaspora, in the archives at the New York Historical Society and the Linen Hall Library in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

ATDS Graduate Student Research Award

David Bisaha, University of Pittsburgh

David will use the award to fund a five-day research trip to New York University’s Tamiment Library, where he will consult the archives of the United Scenic Artists Local 829. The research is in support of his dissertation, “Developing the Modern Scene Design Process: Cognition and the New Stagecraft.”

ATDS Publication Subvention Award

Jonathan Shandell, Arcadia University

His forthcoming essay “Turning ‘Negroes’ into ‘People’: Anna Lucasta in Harlem and on Broadway” will appear in Experiments in Democracy, co-edited by Shandell and Cheryl Black, published by Southern Illinois University Press.

ATDS Emerging Scholars Award

Sara Galloway, University of California, Irvine

“Hester, La Negrita for the World: Structural Antagonism as Static Narrative in Suzan-Lori Park’s In the Blood.”