Award Winners

Honors and Awards Won By ATDS Members


Cheryl Black was inducted into the College of Fellows of the American Theatre in the spring of 2016

David Carlyon’s book The Education of a Circus Clown: Mentors, Audiences, Mistakes was one of three books chosen, along with Henry Bial’s and Dorothy Chansky’s, for the American Theater and Drama Society’s “Brilliance of the American Theatre Reading,” Drama Book Shop, New York City, March 24, 2016.

John Frick, UVa Professor Emeritus, past- president of ATDS and 2010 recipient of the Betty Jean Jones award has been selected for membership in the College of Fellows of the American Theatre. He will be formally inducted at the Kennedy Center next April.

Michelle Granshaw received the 2016-2017 Harry Ransom Center Research Fellowship in the Humanities.

Amy E. Hughes received a long-term American Antiquarian Society (AAS)-National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Fellowship to conduct research at the AAS for her monograph project, An Actor’s Tale: Theater, Culture, and Everyday Life in Nineteenth-Century US America. She also received a fellowship from the New England Regional Fellowship Consortium (NERFC) to support research at Houghton Library (Harvard University), Brooklyn Public Library, and the New England Historic Genealogical Society. In addition, she received short-term research fellowships from the Winterthur Museum and Massachusetts Historical Society.

In 2016 Laurence Senelick was elected to the College of Fellows of the American Theatre.


Sarah Bay-Cheng received a Fulbright Fellowship for the Senior Professorship in American Culture in the Netherlands for fall 2015. She will be in residence at Utrecht University, teaching a graduate seminar and guest lecturing. Her research project is a comparative study of digital history and experimental performance in the US and Netherlands, which is part of her ongoing monograph, Digital Historiography and Performance.

Cheryl Black was inducted as a Fellow of the Mid-America Theatre Conference; she was named the Catherine Paine Middlebush Chair in Fine and Performing Arts, Univ of Missouri; she also received a Summer Research Fellowship and Fall Research Leave from MU Research Council to complete Decades of Modern American Drama: the 1990s, forthcoming from Bloomsbury/Methuen (with co-editor Sharon Friedman).

Rick DesRochers was awarded the Houghton Library Joan Nordell Visiting Fellowship at Harvard University (2015-2016).

Iris Smith Fischer won a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship, 2014, and a Humanities Research Fellowship, Hall Center for the Humanities, Spring 2015.

Felicia Londré completed her terms as Dean (2012-2014) and Immediate Past Dean (2014-2015) of the College of Fellows of the American Theatre.

In the 2015-16 academic year Laura MacDonald will take up fellowships at Ewha Woman’s University in Seoul, South Korea, funded by the British Council, and at the Shanghai Theatre Academy in China, funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, to research American musical theatre in Asia.

Ilka Saal was awarded a Feodor Lynen Research Fellowship for Experienced Researchers by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany to carry out research at the University of Toronto from October 2015 to January 2017.

In 2015 Laurence Senelick was awarded lifetime honorary membership in the American Theatre and Drama Society.  He was a visiting fellow at the Center for Advanced Studies,Ludwig-Maximilian Universität, Munich, and appointed to the advisory board of its project on Transnational Theatre Histories.

Don B. Wilmeth received the 2015 University of Illinois Alumni Achievement Award at the 2015 Commencement.


Andrew Sofer’s Dark Matter received Honorable Mention for the 2014 Outstanding Book Award from the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE).

Amy Hughes received the 2013 Barnard Hewitt Award from the American Society for Theatre Research for her book Spectacles of Reform: Theater and Activism in Nineteenth-Century America.

Harvey Young won ATHE’s excellence in editing award for his book The Cambridge Companion to African American Theatre.

Heather Nathans continues as president of the American Theatre and Drama Society.

Henry Bial continues his term as president of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education.


Susan Manning won the award for Outstanding Scholarly Research in Dance, a lifetime achievement award from the Congress on Research in Dance.

Kim Mara won the ATHE 2013 Outstanding Article Award

Robin Bernstein was a co-winner of best ATHE book for Racial Innocence: Performing American Childhood from Slavery to Civil Rights.

Amy Hughes won the ASTR Barnard Hewitt Award for Outstanding Research in Theatre History.

ATDS honored John Frick by renaming the ATDS Annual Book Award to the John W. Frick Book Award.