ATDS Awards 2015

The American Theatre and Drama Society’s 2014/2015 Award Winners

Betty Jean Jones Award

Tice Miller, University of Nebraska

To honor and remember Betty Jean Jones who was a highly respected and admired American Theatre and Drama teacher, the American Theatre and Drama Society accepts nominations each year for the Betty Jean Jones Award. Betty Jean received her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and, until her untimely death, was a professor at the University of Michigan. The award that bears her name honors individuals who have achieved excellence as college/university teachers and/or scholars, and have served as mentors in the profession.

ATDS John W. Frick Book Award

Paige A. McGinley, Washington University in St. Louis
Staging the Blues: From Tent Shows to Tourism (Duke University Press).

Honorable Mention to Faedra Chatard Carpenter, University of Maryland for Coloring Whiteness: Acts of Critique in Black Performance (University of Michigan Press).

Vera Mowry Roberts Award for Research and Publication

Emma Willis, University of Auckland

“Spectatorship and the Subjective Drift: Understanding the Work of the Spectator in Erik Ehn’s Soulographie,” published in Theatre Journal (October 2014).

ATDS Faculty Travel Award

Beth Osborne, Florida State University

To present her paper, “4000 Silent Graves: Reenacting Cherokee History and Memory in the Smoky Mountains, ” ATDS panel Slippery Memory: Remembering American Patriotism in Performance, Sat. Aug. 1, 2:15 pm-3:45 pm, 6355 Gatineau.

ATDS Graduate Student Research Award

Christiana Molldrem Harkulich, University of Pittsburgh

To conduct research for “Standing between the Reservation and the Nation: Indigenous Performance in North America after the end of the Indian Wars.”

ATDS Publication Subvention Award

Maya Cantu, Yale School of Drama

American Cinderellas on the Broadway Musical Stage: Imagining the Working Girl from Irene to Gypsy. (forthcoming from Palgrave Macmillan Studies in Theatre and Performance History, 2015)

Honorable Mention to Adrienne Macki, University of Connecticut
Harlem’s Theaters: A Staging Ground for Community, Class, and Contradiction, 1923-1939 (forthcoming from Northwestern University Press, 2015)

ATDS Emerging Scholars Award

Jennifer Schmidt, Yale School of Drama

For her presentation, “The Virtuosic Avant-Garde: Process, Play, and the Everyday,” BTA/ATDS “Curtains Up! Debut Panel,”
July 31, 2:15 – 3:45 pm, 6314 Hochelaga


Click here to see past award winners.