ATDS Awards 2018

Deadline: February 1, 2018

To honor and remember Betty Jean Jones, who was a highly respected and admired American Theatre and Drama teacher, the American Theatre and Drama Society accepts nominations each year for the Betty Jean Jones Award.  Betty Jean received her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and, until her untimely death, was a professor at the University of Michigan. The award that bears her name honors individuals who have achieved excellence as college/university teachers and/or scholars, and have served as mentors in the profession.

The award is presented at the annual ATHE conference, this year to be held in Boston, MA August 1-5, 2018.  Honorees receive a travel stipend (up to $750), a $200 Honorarium, and Lifetime Honorary Membership in ATDS.  Nominations from students, colleagues, and other members of the academic community are welcomed each year.


Nominees must:

  • Have taught on the college level (either full or part time) for at least 10 years.  These need not have been consecutive.
  • Have had an impact on students and the profession as a scholar, a teacher, an artist, and/or a mentor in the field of theatre and drama in and of the Americas, recognizing that notions of America and the U.S. encompass migrations of peoples and cultures that overlap and influence one another.
  • Nominees need not be members of either ATDS or ATHE, but the individual making the nomination must be a member of ATDS.

The ATDS nominating member must submit a letter of nomination and no more than three supporting letters describing the nominee’s distinction by February 1, 2018 to Barry Witham, chair of the Betty Jean Jones Award Committee, at

Email submissions with attachments are preferred.

2017-2018 Committee: Barry Witham (University of Washington), Felicia Londré (University of Missouri – Kansas City), and Jonathan Chambers (Bowling Green State University)

The American Theatre and Drama Society will honor one person each year, but a nominee’s file will be considered for up to three subsequent years.

For a profile on Dr. Jones, follow this link to the Gaines-Jones Education Foundation.

Previous Award Winners

Betty Jean Jones Award

Jonathan Chambers, 2016
Tice Miller, 2015
Robert A. Schanke, 2014
Dorothy Chansky, 2013
Laurence Senelick, 2012
Felicia Londré, 2011
John Frick, 2010
Elinor Fuchs, 2009
David Krasner, 2008
Jim Fisher, 2007
Christopher Bigsby, 2006
Harry Elam, 2006
Brooks McNamara, 2005
Marc Robinson, 2004
Barry Witham, 2003
Patti Gillespie, 2002
Linda Dorff, 2001
Esther Jackson, 2000
Don Wilmeth, 1999
Rosemarie Bank, 1998
Geri Maschio, 1997

John W. Frick Book Award

Hillary Miller, 2017, Drop Dead: Performance in Crisis, 1970s New York
Paige A. McGinley, 2015, Staging the Blues: From Tent Shows to Tourism
Barry Witham, 2014, A Sustainable Theatre: Jasper Deeter at Hedgerow
John Frick, 2013, Uncle Tom’s Cabin on the American Stage and Screen

Vera Mowry Roberts Award for Research and Publication

Emma Willis, 2015
Michelle Granshaw, 2014
Joseph Falocco, 2013

Publication Subvention Award

Maya Cantu, 2015
Jonathan Shandell, 2014
Aaron Tobiason, 2013
Ann Folino White, 2013

Faculty Travel/Research Award

Beth Osborne, 2015
Michelle Granshaw, 2014
Amy Brady, 2013

Graduate Student Travel/Research Award

Christiana Molldrem Harkulich, 2015
David Bisaha, 2014
Mary McAvoy, 2013

Emerging Scholars Award

Jennifer Schmidt, 2015
Sara Galloway, 2014
Asantewa Sunni-Ali, 2013
Elynne Whaley, 2013