The Betty Jean Jones Award

The Betty Jean Jones Award


Click here for a profile of Dr. Betty Jean Jones from the Gaines-Jones Educational Foundation.

To honor and remember Betty Jean Jones, who was a highly respected and admired American Theatre and Drama teacher, the American Theatre and Drama Society accepts nominations each year for the Betty Jean Jones Award.  Betty Jean received her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and, until her untimely death, was a professor at the University of Michigan. The award that bears her name honors individuals who have achieved excellence as college/university teachers and/or scholars, and have served as mentors in the profession.

The award is presented at the annual ATHE conference, this year to be held in Boston, MA August 1-5, 2018.  Honorees receive a travel stipend (up to $750), a $200 Honorarium, and Lifetime Honorary Membership in ATDS.  Nominations from students, colleagues, and other members of the academic community are welcomed each year.


Nominees must:

  • Have taught on the college level (either full or part time) for at least 10 years.  These need not have been consecutive.
  • Have had an impact on students and the profession as a scholar, a teacher, an artist, and/or a mentor in the field of theatre and drama in and of the Americas, recognizing that notions of America and the U.S. encompass migrations of peoples and cultures that overlap and influence one another.
  • Nominees need not be members of either ATDS or ATHE, but the individual making the nomination must be a member of ATDS.

The ATDS nominating member must submit a letter of nomination and no more than three supporting letters describing the nominee’s distinction by February 1, 2018 to Barry Witham, chair of the Betty Jean Jones Award Committee, at

Email submissions with attachments are preferred.

2017-2018 Committee: Barry Witham (University of Washington), Felicia Londré (University of Missouri – Kansas City), and Jonathan Chambers (Bowling Green State University)

The American Theatre and Drama Society will honor one person each year, but a nominee’s file will be considered for up to three subsequent years.

2016 BJJ Award Brochure Cover

2016 BJJ Award Brochure Cover

Click here to see the program from the special ceremony at ATHE 2016 recognizing ATDS Betty Jean Jones Award Winners as lifetime honorary members of ATDS

Previous Honorees:

Jonathan Chambers, 2016
Tice Miller, 2015
Robert Schanke, 2014
Dorothy Chansky, 2013
Laurence Senelick, 2012
Felicia Londré, 2011
John Frick, 2010
Elinor Fuchs, 2009
David Krasner, 2008
Jim Fisher, 2007
Christopher Bigsby, 2006
Harry Elam, 2006
Brooks McNamara, 2005
Marc Robinson, 2004
Barry Witham, 2003
Patti Gillespie, 2002
Linda Dorff, 2001
Esther Jackson, 2000
Don Wilmeth, 1999
Rosemarie Bank, 1998
Geri Maschio, 1997