Vera Mowry Roberts Award


The American Theatre and Drama Society once again offers the Vera Mowry Roberts Research and Publication Award for the best essay published in English (essays must appear in a refereed scholarly journal or edited collection). The essay must focus on Theatre and/or Performance in the Americas (recognizing that notions of “America” and the United States encompass migrations of peoples and cultures that overlap and influence one another). The award recipient will receive $200 and a one-year membership in ATDS and will be recognized at ATDS’s meeting during the annual convention of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE).

Deadline: March 1, 2018

Eligibility: The author must be a degreed (no longer enrolled in a graduate program) but untenured scholar at the time the essay is published. The competition is also open to independent scholars, or scholars working in adjunct, or full-time, non-tenure track positions. Eligible essays must have been published between February 2017 and February 2018.

Nomination: Nominations may come from the author of the essay, any member of the American Theatre and Drama Society, or the editor of a journal or collection in which the essay appeared. Authors may nominate only one essay. Editors may nominate one essay per volume or collection.

Submission: Electronic submissions only. Email a PDF to Prof. Sean Metzger, Chair of the Selection Committee:

2017-2018 Selection Committee: Sean Metzger (UCLA), Leah Lowe (Vanderbilt), & Angela Latham (Governors State University)