Betty Jean Jones Award 2015

Call for Nominations

American Theatre and Drama Society Betty Jean Jones Award

For Outstanding Teacher of American Theatre and Drama

Deadline: March 1, 2016

To honor and remember Betty Jean Jones who was a highly respected and admired American Theatre and Drama teacher, ATDS accepts nominations each year for the Betty Jean Jones Award. Betty received her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and, until her untimely death, was a professor at the University of Michigan. The award that bears her name honors individuals who have achieved excellence as college or university teachers of American theatre or drama. The award is presented at the annual ATHE conference. Nominations from students, colleagues and other members of the academic community are welcomed each year.


  • Nominees must:
  • Have taught on the college level (either full or part time) for at least 10 years. These need not have been consecutive.
  • Have had an impact on students as scholars/artists and have had an impact on their lives as members of the theatre community.
  • Be an outstanding teacher of any aspect of American theatre and drama.
  • Nominees need not be members of either ATDS or ATHE, but the individual making the nomination must be a member of ATDS.


At the annual ATDS Business Meeting at ATHE, the recipient of the Betty Jean Jones Award is introduced and is presented a plaque to commemorate the event.

The Betty Jean Jones recipient will receive a travel stipend, a $200 honorarium, and lifetime honorary membership to ATDS.


The ATDS member must submit a letter of nomination and no more than three supporting letters describing the nominee’s distinction as a teacher of American theatre or drama (and other significant professional achievements) by March 1, of the year in which the award is to be presented to the chair of the Awards Committee listed below. E-mail submissions with attachments are preferred. If you have any questions about the nomination process, please contact the Selection Committee Chair, John Frick.

Submit to:

John Frick
Professor Emeritus
University of Virginia
105 Woodstock Dr.
Charlottesville, VA22901