ATDS Frick Book Award 2016

ATDS John W. Frick Book Award

Deadline: February 15, 2016


Purpose: The American Theatre and Drama Society’s John W. Frick Book Award honors the best monograph published each year on theatre and performance of/in the Americas, recognizing that notions of “America” and the United States encompass migrations of peoples and cultures that overlap and influence one another. The award recipient will receive a cash prize of $200 and will be recognized at the annual ATDS membership meeting at the ATHE Conference (Chicago, IL). For more information about ATDS, visit

Evaluation and eligibility: Books will be evaluated on the basis of originality, critical rigor, and contribution to the field. Books must exhibit a copyright date of 2015. Edited collections, anthologies, and plays are not eligible.

Nominations: The author, the publisher, or any member of ATDS may submit nominations.

Submissions: Please submit 1 copy of the book each to:

  1. James Fisher (Chair, Frick Award Committee)

Professor of Theatre, Department of Theatre
School of Music, Theatre and Dance
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Brown 113, Box 26170
Greensboro, NC 27402-6170

  1. Barbara Ozieblo

Dpto. de Filología Inglesa
Facultad de Filosofía y Letras
Universidad de Málaga
29071 Málaga, Spain

  1. Harvey Young

Professor and Chair of Theatre
Northwestern University
70 Arts Circle Drive
Room 5-196
Evanston, IL 60208


Questions? Please contact Selection Committee Chair at