Betty Jean Jones Award 2013-2014


Deadline: April 25, 2014 

To honor and remember Betty Jean Jones who was a highly respected and admired American Theatre and Drama teacher, the American Theatre and Drama Society accepts nominations each year for the Betty Jean Jones Award. Betty Jean received her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and, until her untimely death, was a professor at the University of Michigan. The award that bears her name honors individuals who have achieved excellence as college/university teachers and/or scholars, and have served as mentors in the profession.

Past honorees include:

Dorothy Chansky, 2013
Laurence Senelick, 2012
Felicia Londré, 2011
John Frick, 2010
Elinor Fuchs, 2009
David Krasner, 2008
Jim Fisher, 2007
Christopher Bigsby, 2006
Harry Elam, 2006
Brooks McNamara, 2005 Marc Robinson, 2004
Barry Witham, 2003
Patti Gillespie, 2002
Linda Dorff, 2001
Esther Jackson, 2000
Don Wilmeth, 1999 Rosemarie Bank, 1998
Geri Maschio, 1997

The award is presented at the annual ATHE conference, this year to be held in Scottsdale Arizona, July 24 – 27, 2014. A small travel stipend is offered to the selected honoree. Nominations from students, colleagues, and other members of the academic community are welcomed each year.


Nominees must:

  • Have taught on the college level (either full or part time) for at least 10 years. These need not have been consecutive.
  • Have had an impact on students and the profession as a scholar, a teacher, an artist, and/or a mentor.

Nominees need not be members of either ATDS or ATHE, but the individual making the nomination must be a member of ATDS.


The ATDS member must submit a letter of nomination and no more than three supporting letters describing the nominee’s distinction by April 25, 2014 to Jim Fisher, chair of the Betty Jean Jones Award Committee: Email submissions with attachments are preferred.

The American Theatre and Drama Society will honor one person each year, but a nominee’s file will be considered for up to three subsequent years.

Please email Jim Fisher if you’d like to discuss the Betty Jean Jones Award.