Betty Jean Jones Award 2015


Nomination Deadline: April 25, 2015

To honor and remember Betty Jean Jones who was a highly respected and admired American Theatre and Drama teacher, the American Theatre and Drama Society accepts nominations each year for the Betty Jean Jones Award.  Betty Jean received her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and, until her untimely death, was a professor at the University of Michigan.  The award that bears her name honors individuals who have achieved excellence as college/university teachers and/or scholars, and have served as mentors in the profession.


Past honorees include:

Robert A. Schanke, 2014Dorothy Chansky, 2013Laurence Senelick, 2012Felicia Londré, 2011

John Frick, 2010

Elinor Fuchs, 2009

David Krasner, 2008

Jim Fisher, 2007Christopher Bigsby, 2006Harry Elam, 2006Brooks McNamara, 2005 Marc Robinson, 2004

Barry Witham, 2003

Patti Gillespie, 2002Linda Dorff, 2001Esther Jackson, 2000Don Wilmeth, 1999 Rosemarie Bank, 1998

Geri Maschio, 1997

The award is presented at the annual ATHE conference, this year to be held in Montréal, Québec, July 30 – August 2, 2015A small travel stipend is offered to the selected honoree.  Nominations from students, colleagues, and other members of the academic community are welcomed each year.

Nominees must:

  • Have taught on the college level (either full or part time) for at least 10 years.  These need not have been consecutive.
  • Have had an impact on students and the profession as a scholar, a teacher, an artist, and/or a mentor.

Nominees need not be members of either ATDS or ATHE, but the individual making the nomination must be a member of ATDS.

The ATDS member must submit a letter of nomination and no more than three supporting letters describing the nominee’s distinction by April 25, 2015 to Robert Schanke, chair of the Betty Jean Jones Award Committee:  Email submissions with attachments are preferred.

The American Theatre and Drama Society will honor one person each year, but a nominee’s file will be considered for up to three subsequent years. Please email Robert Schanke privately if you’d like to discuss the Betty Jean Jones Award.